This particular Virginia state auto insurance depends on specific laws that were in the state. It also levies few financial burdens on the drivers and vehicle owners. If it’s the case you are driving in Virginia you must be having either Virginia auto insurance along with the sufficient liability coverage or you must be showing the officers a solid proof that you possess adequate money which enables to pay for all your losses in case of any accident that took place. This can be said as a particular financial responsibility according to the rules of this Virginia state. This is the best way to keep the drivers away from deeds like over speeding.
What are the available options on financial responsibilities?
There are about three main choices that are considered in Virginia auto insurance
1. All you have to do is to get your vehicle registered with an official licensed insurance company in the state of Virginia. You must select the company which offers liability coverage which is minimum most.
2. If you do not have such liability coverage, you must be paying about a sum of $500 fee to the department of motor vehicles in the form of uninsured fee. You must also remember that this fee is not a kind which guarantees any insurance. It only allows driving your vehicles at your risk. You must also renew it by paying the fee in a timely manner.
3. If you are an owner of a business vehicle, you need to secure the surety and also the self insurance bonds. They also come from the department of motor vehicles.
What will happen if I do not have any financial responsibility?
If you do not avail the services of Virginia auto insurance or if you do not have the coverage of financial responsibility or if you are not able to fulfill any options of the financial responsibility some unwanted situations may arise. Some really gruesome situations like suspension of your driving license may take place. It will be a really painful process to regain you license. The process includes payment of particular fee by the names like statutory fee and reinstatement fee etc. you also need to submit some particular documents to the department of motor insurance to avail the benefits of a proper insurance. Although you satisfy all such requirements you may not avail the benefits of many valid claims and some money on your assets.
What should be my minimum coverage?
The minimum coverage is in such a way that it provides a person a bodily insurance of about $25000 in case of an accident. If it’s the case of all bodily injuries then he can be getting about $50000. if it’s the case of a property damage then an amount of $20000 can be availed. If you want protection from other negligent drivers on the road, you must choose uninsured or underinsured motor coverage insurance. It also helps in the situations like losses. It must be kept in mind that the coverage from Virginia state motor insurance is like just above the limit you may receive from the other parties to cover the damages. You must also remember that even if there is total reimbursement, it cannot really be exceeding the uninsured and underinsured motor coverage.