The number of vehicles on the road in the country is increasing day-by-day along with the necessity for the drivers of many of these cars to look out for a cheaper auto insurance. The statistics reveal that there are more than 190 million motorists in the U.S. with 240 million registered vehicles. With each state in the country upholding certain guidelines with regard to auto insurance, one has to be aware of these policies if he has to take the car on the road. In this article, let us examine the auto insurance policies specific to certain U.S. states.
Auto Insurance Rules in California
Every state has its own rules that are to be followed by all insurance companies within the state. The auto insurance companies in the State of California require certain compulsory insurance coverages fixed by the government.
The coverages extended by the auto insurance companies in California are cited below:
1. Every individual in California has to shield himself from an accident or injury caused in an accident for an amount ranging from $15,000 to $30,000.
2. The property damage coverage is fixed for a figure up to $5,000.
3. The state of California demands the insurance companies to offer the people with optional coverages like the collision and comprehensive insurance, medical payments and bodily coverage of underinsured or uninsured motorists.
According to the law specific to the State of California, the auto insurance companies have to fix the cost of auto insurance due from the people based on certain elements. These factors to be considered are the age of the driver, the make and year of vehicle you possess, and the driving record of the driver.
Brief Insight to the Auto Insurance Rules and Coverage in Virginia
Auto insurance laws of Virginia stay apart from the laws regarding the auto insurance in other states. The motorists in Virginia are responsible for any damage or injury caused by accident. The auto insurance coverage presented by the Virginia Beach auto insurance take up three forms, namely the bodily injury coverage, property damage liability, and the underinsured and uninsured insurance coverage with the liability minimums stipulated at 25/50/20. It means that the minimum coverage provided by Virginia auto insurance is $25,000 for a single accident or injury, $50,000 as the insurance coverage for all injuries emerging from an accident and a property damage coverage of $20,000.
Auto Insurance Rules and Coverage in Texas
With the Texas auto insurance demanding its motorists to possess a minimum liability, it is the task of the motorist to find the lowest available quotes based on research from various auto insurance companies taking advantage of the various offers, discounts and lucrative deals extended by them.
The minimum level of coverages that are to be held by the motorist in Texas are the bodily injury liability or the BI for an amount of $20,000 per person and a property damage or the PD coverage to a limit of at least $15,000 per accident.
A comparison of the above quotes demanded by the various states reveal the fact that the auto insurance in California is comparatively more expensive than the others besides offering the motorist with a better coverage.